Airport goodbyes

After being in a long distance relationship for almost two years, there’s one thing my boyfriend and I have had to do many times: say goodbye in an airport. Airports are stereotyped as the place for romantic and heartbreaking goodbyes. This is very common in movies. There’s always a couple embracing where the girl is sobbing and begging the guy to stay, but he never does. Maybe I watch too many movies.

Whether I’m saying goodbye to him or he’s saying goodbye to me, one of us is always getting on a plane, and I’m always the one who’s crying. You would think the more you do something, the easier it would get. Unfortunately saying goodbye to someone you love never gets easier. Our last goodbye was definitely the hardest.

airplane.jpg

My boyfriend studies music at Belmont University in Nashville, TN. The last time I visited him was a week ago. While I was visiting, he introduced me to several of his friends. The connections I made with them made them my friends as well. After only a week I developed some of the strongest friendships I’d ever had. This time when I said my goodbye, I was saying it to more than just him.

When I stepped off the plane after it touched down in Kansas I immediately wanted to return to Tennessee. I’ve never felt so connected to a place and the people there. I miss it, and I miss them. I will do everything in my power to end up in Nashville. God wouldn’t have put these feelings in my heart if he wasn’t trying to tell me something.

Leave a Reply

