Home + heart

homeplusheartHome is defined in different ways. It can be as literal as saying that a home is a house, apartment or other form of shelter that is the residence of a person or family. In more abstract sounding terms a home is a refuge, safe space and escape from the tensions and pressures life bestows upon us. Most people have resided in one or more homes. These homes unceasingly provide extensive, essential amounts of relief and comfort. For me, I always considered home to be where the heart is. To most, a huge part of the heart is fueled by the family. There is something special about the home where one grows up. Every inch of the house is memorized and there are memories connecting each room to the next. Whether it’s the smell of mother’s fresh baked brownies in the kitchen to the sound of brother laughing at a funny movie in the den to the sight of dad mowing the grass in the backyard. All these moments solidify how distinctive and unique this place truly is.

“Home is where love resides, memories are created, friends always belong, and laughter never ends.” 

I realize that a home may not be a traditional, four-wall, enclosed shelter. Even for me I have a home away from my childhood dwelling place. A home should be a place that provides a sense of security, happiness and strength. Whenever I stand on stage in a theatre I feel a sense of contentment, fortitude and conviction. There’s no other place that can fulfill the same definition of home in my eyes. I don’t have to pretend to be something I’m not when I’m there; the theatre accepts me for what I am. This home boosts my confidence. The friendships fostered and maintained in the theatre are those that comprise laughter and compassion. To be in the theatre is to be surrounded by memories, friends and merriment.

As life continues there will be more “homes” that will present themselves. Entering adulthood has made me realize that home is no longer a place where you live, but a place where they understand you. We can’t hide away in our childhood homes forever, as comfortable and safe as they may be. Stepping out into the world and working to continually learn who we are is an opportunity that must be seized. As unpredictable as this journey is one thing is certain, these homes where we feel the happiest and safest will never be forgotten.

“Where we love is HOME – home where our feet may leave, but not our hearts.”

Leave a Reply

