Rekindling a flame

flamesI have, many a time, made decisions that have cost me friendships and decisions that have brought new friends into my life. One choice I made cost me the greatest friend I’d ever had. Someone who was more than a friend. Someone whose relationship was the foundation of my entire world. Someone who brought endless laughter, joy, love, challenge and adventure into my life. As Eleanor said, it is “true friends” that will “leave footprints” that never fade away. This person was a true friend beyond any means and has made a permanent, passionate mark on my heart that will never disappear. This person wasn’t just a ghost who floated in and out of my life, but instead they were an angel that cared for and watched over me. This person showered me with more love than I deserved at times. Who pushed me reach the potential they believed I encompassed despite my stubborn bouts of refusal. They wanted the best for me even though at the time I often didn’t see it that way.

I thought my decision had cost me this person forever. But, to my surprise, they have walked back into my life like a bright, burning flame and everything I once felt is now resurfacing. The fact that they have returned proves the theory that the two of us cannot go on living our lives without one another. It’s true that we could easily go on living our own separate lives; achieve our own successes and experience our own mistakes. However, the goodness we can add to each other makes me believe that we belong in each others lives, even if at first it appears more complicated. I’d much rather take time to sort through convoluted emotions than suffer the loss of this special person forever.

“Many people will walk in and out of your life, but true friends will leave footprints in your heart.” Eleanor Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

