Taking chances

All my life I’ve always played it safe. I took small steps instead of huge leaps when it came to making decisions. I’ve always thought of taking risks as ways to fail and make mistakes. I detest the concept of failure and try to avoid it at all costs. I think everyone eventually comes to the realization that failure is a part of life and it is also, much to my dismay, inevitable.

Recent events have proven to me that taking a leap is sometimes the best way to fulfill your dreams. Nobody ever achieved anything worthwhile by being cautious and letting greatness pass them by. You have to fight for what you want and if that means standing on the edge and jumping into unknown territory then do it! No matter how terrifying or impossible it seems.

I really need to start listening to myself when I say these things because, trust me, these words are much easier to type than to carry out in my own life. It’s challenging to open yourself up to the idea of failure and disappointment. Those are two things that people hate to experience. But every once in while when you leap you won’t land in failure, you’ll end up somewhere worthwhile. Somewhere you never would have been without standing on the edge and taking that crucial step.

There is a risk that I have wanted to take for a very long time. The reason I haven’t taken it is because the possible consequence is too great to ignore. The impending consequence has paralyzed me and forced me to do nothing. I wish I could just look past the potential negative aftermath and just jump, but I just don’t think I can muster up the courage.

I guess I just need to keep telling myself… In the end, you only regret the chances you didn’t take. How will you know if it’s the right decision if you never make it? If you want it, you need to go for it. Take a risk. Don’t always play it safe or you’ll die wondering. And most importantly, don’t ever be afraid to take risks because they are what make life worth living.

Maybe someday soon I’ll be able to take that step.

Leave a Reply

