Waking with a desired epiphany

epiphanyEvery once in a while everyone has an epiphany of some sort. The epiphany could be something small or something life-changing. Mine fell somewhere in the middle, but it did affect my thinking. Within my 21 years I’ve only been in one relationship. It was a relationship that started in high school and lasted a quarter of my life – almost 5 years! This relationship ended last year and I’ve now been single for about nine months. The period following the breakup it was really rough. However, over the summer I started to realize how great single life really is. Being a single woman I only have to take care of myself; I don’t have to worry about impressing someone 24/7; and best of all, I can casually DATE!

I thought after nine months that I was ready for my next relationship. I was in the process of experimenting with different dating apps and was getting to the point where I was seriously considering a couple guys. Then… EPIPHANY! Do I really want to commit myself to one guy during my senior year of college? Do I really want the extra pressure and stress of a relationship on top of everything else I have going on? No, I don’t. I like being able to go out with different guys, enjoy different forms of company and get to know different people. It’s refreshing and something that I never got to experience during high school or my first few years of college.

Don’t get me wrong – I don’t regret my almost five year relationship. I loved my ex-boyfriend more than people usually love their first significant other. I learned a lot from that experience, but now it’s Amy time. It’s time for me to have fun and experience my life before I start a career, marry, settle down and have kids. It was one heck of an epiphany, but it revealed to me something that I needed to know about myself. And for that, I’m really grateful!

Leave a Reply

