Bonded by faith

We have all been blessed with that one special friend. A friend who goes above and beyond and exceeds the expectations we never even knew we had. A friend who is the complete package: a role model, a comforter, and a spiritual guide and advice giver. In my case, this girl has been a solace from all the unhealthy friendships I’ve dealt with in my life. She’s showed me the true meaning of friendship in that it doesn’t take a whole lot to be a worthy friend. Even though I’ve only known her for a year and a half, she has exhibited the commitment, care and support that I’ve never experienced in any of my other relationships. These were all things that I yearned for because of the happy, bubbly feelings they added to my heart.

I met this extraordinary girl during my first semester at Washburn. Our mutual faith brought us together and bonded us like sisters. I have never met someone so in-tune with their faith and their overall desire to please Him in everything they do. Just by hanging out with her my faith has grown significantly! Her compassionate nature, friendly demeanor and fiery love for Christ have rubbed off on me. Being sisters in Christ automatically allowed us to share identical morals, beliefs and values. These commonalities give us the opportunity to connect on a deep, personal level that, in my opinion, isn’t often reached. She is by far the first person I turn to in moments of joy and in moments of sorrow. I don’t know how she does it, seriously, but she always says the right thing, even if sometimes it’s hard to hear at first. Small pieces of her advice have helped me regain my footing in times of bewilderment. She has helped me avoid the mistakes that would have directed me down the wrong path. I can honestly say that where I am right now, this good place in my life, is all because of her.

It’s so evident that she wants the absolute best for me and everyone else in her life. She has such a giving, selfless heart — always putting the needs of others before her own. In addition to being selfless, she has this incredible gift of making me feel loved and appreciated, which is exactly what a good friend should have. I never have to worry about her performing a disappearing act when I need her — she is always there, no questions asked. That reassurance and that reliability are why my friendship with her is so refreshing and will always be cherished.

“Selfless love is always costly; fear can’t afford it, pride doesn’t understand it and friends never forget it.” – Bob Goff

Leave a Reply

