The good samaritan

carI’ve forgotten what it’s like. That feeling you get when you have someone do something above and beyond for your benefit. Someone who lends a helping hand without ever asking for anything in return. Someone who when they know you’re in a bind they drop nearly everything to assist you. I guess this feeling relates to being certain you have a guardian angel watching over you. Of course, I don’t mean literally hovering above you watching you every second. I mean having a person who you can always turn to no matter what, whether it’s regarding something good or something bad. Did I mention the fact that this “certain someone” has been in my life for less than a month? Yet, he has proven himself to encompass qualities that many of my friends don’t come close to having. It’s his selfless attitude and warm heart that make him the special guy that he is.

I’m sure you’re familiar with the Good Samaritan. “A charitable or helpful person,” according to Luke 10:33 in the Bible. Well, I know for a fact that he would give the shirt off his own back for a complete stranger. He would go out of his way to help and care for anyone who crossed his path, whether they were classified as friends, family, acquaintances or strangers. Living in Topeka puts about an hour of distance between him and I. Yesterday, my car battery died when I was trying to drive to my morning class. This placed a huge damper on my day and caused me great amounts of stress and frustration because I had no idea what I was supposed to do. The minute I mentioned this to him in a text he told me he’d drive out to Topeka after his work day ended and help me fix the issue. Although I told him he didn’t need to, he insisted. At 8 p.m. the same day he picked me up from campus – so I wouldn’t have to walk home in the dark – and drove me to an auto parts store to purchase a new battery. Then, being very car-smart, he installed the new battery himself in the dark with the help of a single flashlight.

This guy took time out of his own day to drive over an hour to resolve a problem for someone he’s known for less than three weeks. I’m sure you’ll understand when I say that his action is one of the most selfless acts I’ve witnessed in my life. Having someone like him in my life makes me feel like I’ve just discovered buried treasure or won the lottery or scored my dream role in a play! I’m so blessed to call him my friend. When I mention the story to other people their response is simply: Amy, I hope you appreciate him and not let him out of your life anytime soon. I think I’m going to follow their advice.

Leave a Reply

