An F in effort

ethicLately, I feel like I’m living in a world of incompetent people. Those who lack  a certain drive and instead seem to just carelessly float and drag their feet through life with a zero percent desire to be successful. They just don’t care about anything. It’s easy to pinpoint these individuals on a college campus – when they’re there. They’re the ones who never turn any assignments in on time; they slack off during class by having their eyes glued to their phones or, not surprisingly, don’t even bother showing up at all, except for exam day where they’ll most likely receive the grade they should receive in effort – an F.

Normally this wouldn’t bother me because I could easily choose to pass them by and ignore their laziness. However, sometimes college professors decide to torture me even more than usual by pairing me with these incompetent idiots for group project assignments. Now the option to ignore them has been taken away. There’s no choice but to deal with their inadequate, minuscule effort that causes more stress for me because I’m the one who has to pick up all their slack. How is that fair? This is a rhetorical question because I, of course, can answer it in two words: It’s not. It’s people like me with the strong work ethic who have to cover these peoples’ useless asses time and time again.

The worst part about all of this is that it’s not going to end when I graduate. There will always be incompetent people in my life whether I like it or not. Not everyone cares about succeeding and making the most out of their life. This has always seemed odd to me because we’re given one life, right? So why wouldn’t you want to spend that life working to fulfill all your hopes and dreams to the best of your ability? Instead these people are simply drifting about, never making an actual impact on anything or anyone. I guess the question on my mind for these people would be… Is this really the kind of life you want to be leading? After all, life is only as meaningful as you make it.

Leave a Reply

