Identifying passion

“There is no passion to be found in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.” – Nelson Mandela

blog

Every single day I am grateful to have a passion that provides my life with more meaning. I’ve known quite a few people who’ve confused and interchanged the words “passion” and “hobby.” These individuals ignorantly believe that these two concepts are the same – they may be similar in some ways, but they are certainly not identical. A hobby is an activity done regularly in one’s leisure time for pleasure. Whereas a passion is linked to a strong liking, desire or devotion to some activity, object, or concept. Having a passion inspires more feeling and longing than a simple hobby ever could.

This key difference is the root of my thankfulness. During my childhood I had several hobbies that I was interested in (theatre, writing, singing, scrapbooking, reading, etc.). These activities occupied my time while helping me become a well-rounded individual. As a child I foolishly believed that I had more than one passion because I had more than one hobby. However, I’ve come to the realization that if these ‘so-called passions’ were all hanging off the edge of a cliff and I could only save one of them I’d know instantly which one to save. In my opinion, each person can only truly have one passion – one concept, activity or object that drives them to live out their life to the fullest extent possible.

It has become evident to me, especially during my college years, that writing (even more so blogging) is the passion that I would choose to save every time. The feeling I get when I’m sitting down in front of a computer screen that’s displaying a blank blog post entry is indescribable. The empty page seems to call out to me in a desire to have me fill the space with my melodic imagery, emotional tones and powerful messages. I know that my blog will never abandon or hurt me. It doesn’t add more stress or anxiety to my life, but instead relieves me of my inner frustrations by allowing itself to portray an outlet for emotional release.

In the end blogging is a true friend to me – an abyss for my passionate desires and creativity. My blog is always ready to absorb all the details, whether joyful or sorrowful, and help me reassemble the pieces when I fall apart. There are no judgments or misconceptions and I never have to worry about measuring up or being self-conscious. The creation and maintenance of this blog allows me to personally develop, strengthen my composition skills and learn that there are things in this world I can fully trust, even if it’s an inanimate object.

Leave a Reply

