Fastening the bow with 3 words

iloveyouWhen we tell someone we love them we’re not doing it out of habit or to
make conversation, but to remind that person that they are the best thing that’s ever happened to us. Last night, I took a major step in my relationship by telling my boyfriend I loved him. Over the past month I’ve had to bite my tongue repeatedly because I wasn’t sure if it was the right time and because I didn’t want to instill panic in him by verbalizing it too early. When I finally said it – and heard him say it in return – I realized an “I love you” was long overdue. The way he’s treated, respected and cared for me since day one has shown me time and time again that we would be together for a long time and continue to grow in our love for each other.

Compared to the last relationship in which I said “I love you,” this time around it happened much quicker, which caught me off guard. It explains why I hesitated for about a month. Let’s be real though, I was 16 years old when I last said it. It took more time back then because I was a lot younger and didn’t fully understand what love was. I love this definition because it describes love as being much more than just a simple infatuation and appreciation of that person. It’s something you choose – you choose to love them for everything that they are. You don’t select the characteristics you love and discard the rest. You accept every single little thing because it makes them who they are: imperfectly perfect (in your eyes).

“Love is an unconditional commitment to an imperfect person. To love somebody isn’t just a strong feeling. It’s a decision, a judgment and a promise.”

I’d forgotten how wonderful it feels to be told that you’re loved. The warm, fuzzy feeling that pulsates through your heart when you hear those three magical words. The three words that have the power to make you feel cherished and adored because you know, by the look in his eyes, that he means it with all this heart. You’re certain now that loneliness isn’t an option because he will always be there to pick you up when you fall. There’s a sense of reassurance in taking this crucial step. Saying “I love you” is like fastening a bow on your relationship package that you’ve carefully wrapped in acts of service, words of affirmation and physical touch. Now you’re ready to move into the next stages of this bond, where a deeper connection is sure to be fostered.

Leave a Reply

