Surround yourself with the best

Since attending a Catholic conference at the beginning of the year I have never felt more invigorated in my faith. During the five days I spent in Dallas a bright flame was reignited within my heart. This new experience highlighted the need for my faith and love of Christ to always come first – no matter what I have going on in my life. Even though being in college brings about a variety of commitments it’s important for me to remember that without my relationship with God I would have nothing. This relationship enriches my life in so many ways – it provides me with mercy and forgiveness for my sins, compassion and understanding for my mistakes and unconditional love every second of everyday.

This reinvigoration of my faith has caused me to reevaluate my relationships, particularly my friendships. Since coming to Washburn I’ve met such a diverse group of people, most of whom have the complete opposite set of morals. These people, though fun to be around, bring out bad habits of mine and make me a person I don’t like – someone who curses, drinks too much and gossips. Luckily, the Catholic faith takes on a different view of friendship. By surrounding myself with other Catholics, the people who will fulfill this definition, I’ll be able to foster meaningful friendships. These people bring out the best in me.

“In philosophical terms a friend is a person whom one knows and loves well and by whom one is known and loved for virtuous reasons.”

I know now that there are multiple opportunities for me to meet these people and acquire these friendships. I’ve recently started attending this new church in Topeka called Christ the King. Through an event I attended last night, I was able to meet a couple new friends and learn about an available young adult group. This group will offer me copious experiences of meeting new people. I have such a desire to surround myself with upbeat people who love Christ and aspire to live a life by following His example.

“Surround yourself with people who make you happy. People who make you laugh, who help you when you’re in need. People who would never take advantage of you. People who genuinely care. They are the ones worth keeping in your life. Everyone else is just passing through.” 

Leave a Reply

