Someone always has my back

mother-daughter-quotes-imageIt’s human instinct for us to crave love. Every individual longs to be loved unconditionally. We desire to have all our flaws accepted and appreciated so they don’t have to stay locked away. This doesn’t have to stem from a romantic relationship, though many think it does. This supply of love can come from numerous sources, whether it be a parent, a sibling, a coworker, a friend, a cousin, a grandparent, or even a professor or coach. Having someone to provide this endless stream of care and support is essential in order to counteract the times of adversity we all face during our lives. Even though I’ve experienced drifters during my life, particularly in the form of friends. I have been fortunate enough to have that unrestricted supply of love. I could easily say that this love is provided to me by my entire family, and that would be true. However, if I’m speaking frankly, there is one person who trumps the rest. She has not only stood by my side for over twenty-two years, but she has nursed every wound, calmed every cry and celebrated every joy. She’s my mother.

I know what you’re thinking – it’s kind of lame to say that your mother is one of your best friends. If it’s lame to admit that then, fine, call me lame. But I can honestly say that she is the one who keeps me grounded and helps me cling to my sanity. I don’t have to filter what I say or censor my personality around her because she totally accepts who I am (after all she did MAKE me). There are so many traits that I encompass that derive directly from her. The outgoingness, the crazy smile, the ability to talk to literally anyone, the constant laughter, the love of wine – I owe all those shared characteristics to her. Most people would think I’m crazy, but I actually tell my mom everything (okay, maybe a couple things are omitted, but still). I completely trust her judgment, opinion and advice during my times of adversity. Sometimes she knows me better than I know myself, which is why she is the only one who can talk me down when I’m obsessively overthinking or being an emotional drama queen. This is why when I’m away at school she’s the one I miss the most – although our long phone calls do soften the ache.

Yesterday I was having a horrible day – it was one of those days when everything that could go wrong had gone wrong and I was rapidly approaching a mental break. I was dealing with roommate issues and had lost my work keys on campus along with balancing seven classes, two jobs, extracurricular activities and so much more. When my mother called she immediately sensed something was wrong, even before I broke down in loud, heaving sobs. I gasped into the phone about everything that had happened. “I just can’t do this anymore Mom, I can’t handle this. Why does all this sh#% keep happening to me?” Step-by-step my mother addressed each issue and calmly talked me through how to go about resolving it. She kept repeating the same thing. “Amy, if anyone can handle all this, it’s you.” Her constant faith in me is what keeps me going. Having her as a cheerleader in my life is the driving force that allows me to grow and never give up on my ambitions. After I hung up I had already wiped away my tears and was ready to move forward.

I believe with my whole heart that having that ceaseless source of love is the key to surviving life’s challenges. Without it, how are we supposed to make it to the light at the end of the tunnel?  We’d be stuck in the dark, alone, forever. Having that person who will provide you love is like knowing that you’ll never have to face anything alone ever again. Someone will always have your back.

Leave a Reply

