A dance under the stars

stargazingI love it when I can learn something from someone. It’s not humanly possible to know everything there is to know in this life. The whole point is to reach out and embrace new experiences and people that will allow us to gain the knowledge we’re lacking. But in order for that to happen we have to be open. We must be open to the possibility of admitting that we’re imperfect and that there are some things that we don’t understand. Being able to allow someone else to break through our vulnerabilities is a gift. This allowance symbolizes our willingness to let them see us for all that we are: imperfect.

There is someone in my life who has taught me so much in the short time that I’ve known him. In addition to proving to me that all good things take time, he has shown me the true meaning of romance. Before I met him I didn’t know what romance was. I mean I had an idea of course based on my experiences, but I’ve now come to realize how little I actually knew. The time I’ve spent with him this past month has provided me with more romantic moments than I’ve had in my entire life. The way he makes me feel is beyond anything I’ve ever felt before because I know it’s real. He appreciates my personality first and foremost, and because of that we’ve been able to establish the truest emotional connection possible. Unlike other guys, I initially started to fall in love with his personality. It’s not that I didn’t find him physically attractive, but physical attraction didn’t get in the way, which is why our emotional bond was quick to develop. The funny thing was as I got to know his mind and heart, his looks became more appealing. This is a phenomenon that is brand new to me. Every time we talk I get to see what makes him unique, and when we’re together he makes me laugh in a way that no one else does.

My favorite romantic activity that we’ve done together is stargaze. I’ve never had the opportunity to gaze up into the dark, beautiful, endless sky of stars with someone special. I’ve always been intrigued by the stars; they create a mystery just waiting to be unfolded. While staring up into the night sky I can feel his cold fingers interlock with mine as he nuzzles his face into my neck and breathes softly into my ear. In all my life, I’ve never been a part of such a romantic, meaningful moment. Lying in the grass and cuddling under a blanket with the night air surrounding us permits us to create a world that is all ours. Then he sometimes takes me into his arms to dance slowly in the comfort of his own living room. He twirls me around, pulls me close and sings into my ear as I rest my head on his chest. I hope one day we’ll dance beneath the stars – finally we’ll be able to combine the activities that make us who we are together and that is perfectly content.

Leave a Reply

