Diving into the pool of adulthood

Macbook Pro Retina 15inch. Photo: Josh ValcarcelI can’t believe it’s been over two months since my last blog post. The magical feeling of watching my fingers rhythmically tap the keys on my laptop is something that will always bring a smile to my face, but now they’re tapping the keys on my brand new Macbook Pro. This is one of the many changes that has happened since I graduated college, and along with it came the dreaded, difficult decision-making process. From what I’ve noticed lately, making tough decisions is a package deal when it comes to adulthood.

My Macbook Pro, plus the warranty and external hard drive, cost approximately $1,500, which in the eyes of a fresh college graduate is an enormous amount of money. The craziest part was that it wasn’t even my money that I was spending; the laptop was intended to be a graduation gift from my grandparents. However, being the cautious, stingy spender that I am, I was overly worried about the overall cost. I spent hours researching, bugging friends and family for advice, and trying to convince myself that a Mac was the right choice. I kept asking myself the question: “Is it going to be worth all this money?”

What ended up getting me through what seemed like an impossible decision was my Oma. She was the one who knew, because of my interest in design, that a Mac would be the right laptop for me. Originally, she was supposed to be by my side as I visited different stores in search of that ideal match. But life has a way of throwing us curveballs when we least expect it, and because of recent events she wasn’t by my side. I was forced to put on my big-girl pants and take all the advice and research and make one of the first major decisions in my adult life.

Now that I have the laptop, I feel a sense of relief because I know it’s going to last for a long time, and it’s going to fulfill all the needs I have when it comes to designing and writing. But just when I thought all the stress was over, I realized that it’s just the beginning. I’m twenty-two years old and the next several years of my life are going to consist of some of the biggest, most impactful decisions. It’s terrifying just thinking about the repercussions that accompany these choices, but then I think about the upside. For the first time in my life I am in control. All I have to do now is trust that I’ve harnessed the best tools needed to design a great future for myself. After all, these tough decisions are going to yield some of my greatest memories.

Leave a Reply

