A star marked with love

IMG_3287I have witnessed numerous events in television shows and movies that I never thought would happen in my own life. These events appear as magical occurrences that one would think are too fantastical for real life. Events like slow-dancing in the rain or lying next to someone you love and gazing up into a sea of stars. Both of these events have become memories in my relationship. Sometimes I feel like I’m dreaming when my boyfriend makes these overwhelmingly romantic gestures that simply steal my breath away, but last Friday night was definitely the greatest.

We have been approaching our six-month anniversary, which is set for the end of August, and my boyfriend has been teasing me about the thought and romance behind his gift. I was scared because of how much money he spent and the fact that he told me it was going to make me cry. How is a girl supposed to compete with that? The only hint he would give me was that it involved the stars, which caused me to draw a blank. I had no idea what to expect, but I figured he wouldn’t let it slip until the weekend of August 19.

Much to my surprise, he caved about a month early. Last Friday we were having an intimate bonfire and grilling up some chili cheese dogs in his backyard. After we finished dinner we laid down in the bed of his truck and waited for the stars to appear. He turned to me and said, “Wow Amy, tonight would be the perfect night to give you your anniversary present.” I asked him how badly he wanted me to open the gift, and he said on a scale of one to ten he was an eight. Following my approval, he ran inside and when he returned he told me close my eyes.

I opened my eyes to find a laminated certificate from the Star Registry for a star that was named Amy & John. The certificate encompassed a beautiful purple and pink background and a personalized message that read, “I name this star for us. May it shine like our love. Forever and always. I love you Amy.” As I read the message I started to tear up. I couldn’t believe that he’d taken an activity so special to who we are as a couple and made it into such an incredible gift.

Along with the certificate was a map indicating the location of our star. One by one the sky began to fill with stars. John looked up and directed my attention to where our star would be. As I gazed up into the dark blue sky I tried to wrap my mind around the fact that our love was now a part of the endless beauty that makes up the nighttime sky. I also knew at that point that this person who had been in my life for only five short months was worth holding on to.

The final part of the gift was a small, sparkling star that we made into a necklace the following day. Now whenever I wear that necklace I can simply look down and think about how lucky I am to have a man who loves me so dearly.

Leave a Reply

