Waking up with a smile

When we see someone in a bad mood we often make the joke, “That person did not get up on the right side of the bed this morning.”  It’s fascinating to me that the beginning of one’s day completely affects their outlook on the remainder of the day. I always envied the person who always woke up with a smile on his or her face, but now thanks to someone special I am that person.

You see, ever since I started dating my boyfriend I have been reintroduced to the concept of romance. From other posts you know that he slow dances with me in the rain, stargazes with me in the bed of his truck and leaves me speechless with his spontaneous kind words and thoughtful gestures. However, there is one thing he’s been doing that takes the cake. Since he works nights, he tends to be up until the early hours of the morning (between 3 a.m. and 5 a.m.). My schedule is the opposite, so I’m usually asleep by 10:30 p.m. in order to wake up by 6:45 a.m.

Most mornings before he goes to bed, my boyfriend will craft a romantic text with the intention of me reading it right when I wake up in the morning. These texts are lengthy and filled with cute emojis that make me blush and giggle as I read through them. Although he works to differentiate these text messages, they always have the same overall message – how much he loves me. When I open my eyes and roll over to turn off my noisy alarm clock, I grab my phone from my nightstand. When I see an unread message, I know it’s from him, and my heart starts beating a little faster.

Phrases like, “I thank God for every second I’m with you and pray that those seconds never end. You are the love of my life Amy, forever and always,”  comprise the words that bring me the joy and exhilaration I need to start a new day because I know that if I can get through the day with a smile on my face and a pep in my step then that day will go by quicker. Then it will be one less day until I get to see him again. Given how much I love to sleep, I never thought I would look forward to waking up so early, but when I think about what awaits me… the early mornings are hardly a downside anymore.

Leave a Reply

