Revisiting crossed bridges

crossing-bridges-bw-new-lBeing a post-graduate means that you have to start, if you haven’t already, making plans for a new journey. This new journey comes in the form of an initial stepping stone in one’s lifelong career path. Some people know exactly what career they’ll have even before their college days come to an end, while others, like myself, haven’t the slightly idea what kind of job will be equally financially stable and emotionally fulfilling. Since the conclusion of my summer internship, I’ve been in limbo. Despite taking some time to rest and recuperate from four grueling years of college, this time-off has added additional pressure about the upcoming decisions that will need to be made so I can dive into my next journey.

This new sense of impatience and nervousness about the future has pushed me to reach out to old resources. Right after high school I made the resourceful decision to attend a junior college for two years to attain an Associate degree. It was today that I chose to return to these old stomping grounds as an alumna to receive assistance from the Career Services department. I remembered that as a student the staff was always eager to lend a hand in helping students plan and achieve their career ambitions and life goals. When I walked through the front door of the Student Center, all my memories from my initial college days came flooding back. I witnessed students walking through, loaded down with heavy textbooks on their way to class. It was hard not to think how less than two years ago, I walked those same hallways and sat in those same classrooms.

I remembered what an amazing time I had while I was there – all the friends I had, presentations I gave, responsibilities I tackled. I built up an excellent reputation through extracurricular involvement and an astonishing academic standing. It was this junior college that prepared me for the success I achieved while at Washburn University. And now, it would be through this junior college that I receive the help I need to forge ahead into the workforce. The counselors there care about whoever walks through their door – students, community members or alumni. I know how much they care because they want to offer their help until the task, in this case finding a job, is completed. The confidence I felt after an hour of discussing strategies for job hunting overshadowed all the nervousness I’d been feeling ever since my time-off began. It’s a relief to know that you can always return to the bridges you’ve already crossed for assistance in crossing future bridges.

Leave a Reply

