Living out definitions

img_3173When you look up the definition of the word compatibility you’ll find the phrase, “A state in which two things are able to exist together without problems or conflict.” Then when you type in the word soulmates, you’ll find “A person ideally suited to another as a close friend or romantic partner.”  When I compare these definitions I see a key similarity. Two things existing together without conflict lines up with two people being ideally suited for each other. For those of us who have the desire to fall in love and get married, the goal is to find that special person – our soulmate. To some, this may seem like an impossible feat. I mean, the definition alone creates high expectations with the words “ideally suited.”

But when you do find that person, the certainty pulses through your veins like an electric shock. You know without a doubt that this is the one you’ve been looking for. There is no one else in existence who understands, respects and loves you the way they do. You feel like for the first time in your life you can take down every barrier you’d planted to protect yourself from heartache and rejection.

“A soulmate is someone who has locks that fit our keys, and keys to fit our locks. When we feel safe enough to open the locks, our truest selves step out and we can be completely and honestly who we are.” Richard Bach

For me, I knew on the second date, which sounds extremely premature, but let’s just say the electric shock worked quickly. The reason you know right away is because of the surplus of signs. Some of the signs show up on the first date and some are discovered later. I feel like I am continuously finding new reasons why he’s the one. The way I can lean my head on his shoulder when we share a hymnal during Mass. How our fingers intertwine perfectly when we’re taking walks or riding in the car. The warmth I feel when we spoon because we’re the perfect size for each other. The way we finish and anticipate each other’s thoughts – proving we’re mind readers.

From the time I was little I always loved to laugh, and I knew that the man I ended up with would have to be funny. I wanted us to be able to tease and joke around with each other all the time. I wanted to marry a goofball, and I’m happy to say that is he makes me laugh more than anyone else in my life. The fun that we have together reassures me that our life together will be the opposite of boring. I know the surprises will never end, the romance will make me cry and laughter will leave me breathless. I truly feel like I’ve found the man with the key to unlock my heart. I can’t imagine going through the rest of my life without his jokes, his charm, his support, his attitude and his love.

Leave a Reply

