Distinguishing the awe moments

img_4423Earlier this month I received the most amazing, useful Christmas present: a Sony Cybershot camera. After watching me whip out my phone every time I caught a glimpse of a beautiful landscape, my boyfriend and I discussed the idea of getting me a real, high quality camera. When I opened the package, I was surprised by the size of the camera: it was significantly small and easily transportable. Since I received it I’ve used it to capture two special events: attending Trans Siberian Orchestra at the Sprint Center and celebrating my 23rd birthday/Christmas Day. Angling my camera at my subjects gave me an exhilarating feeling knowing I’m capturing special moments in time.

Even though my camera takes clear photos, I still sometimes pull out my smart phone to snap a quick photo of a sunset or interesting cloud activity, which is what I did today. After celebrating Christmas with my family, I drove back with my boyfriend to stay the week at his place. This afternoon we drove to a small town nearby to return a DVD to Redbox, and as we were driving back I suggested we stop by Lake Perry to see the sunset. There’s a camping ground right next to the lake, so we were able to drive up to the lake’s edge. I jumped out and walked closer to get a good angle on the setting sun. Unfortunately, the sun’s blinding rays prevented me from being able to see what I was shooting so I retired to the truck.

After we left the site, my boyfriend took a surprising turn and drove us through a sub- development I’d never seen before. He continued to drive and wouldn’t tell me where we were going. About 15 minutes later he pulled onto a small path that ran alongside the same lake we were just at. Only this time, we were on the opposite side. At this point the sun was still setting, so I seized the opportunity for better photos and jumped out of the car. The wind was harsh, but I persisted and positioned my phone to capture the sun’s reflection on the lake. After snapping several shots, I felt satisfied with my second chance and felt lucky to be with someone who encouraged my budding love for photography.

As I sorted through, deleted and polished the photos later that same night, I couldn’t help but be in awe of the beauty I captured. The way the sun illuminated the lake, the ripples that moved effortlessly through the water’s surface, the wispiness of the cirrus clouds and the intense detail of each branch no matter how frail and thin. Fully understanding God’s artistic ability, and for a second allowing myself to be overtaken by pure awe. Taking the time to appreciate the enchantment nature so often offers us… I don’t think I will ever be able to pass up a breathtaking sunset like this one, nor would I ever want to.

“The sky is an infinite movie to me, I never get tired of looking at what’s happening up there.” – K.D. Lang, Canadian singer/songwriter

Leave a Reply

