Extroverts & communication

An extrovert who struggles with communication? That’s impossible. Extroverts are known for heightened skills of verbal expression. So how could an extrovert struggle with the basic characteristic that makes them who they are? Extroverts may be able to socialize easily, but that doesn’t mean they practice proper communication all the time. Tense situations evoke more than just words from extroverts. As an outgoing woman, I can attest to the emotion I feel daily. My joyful and upsetting moments are expressed similarly – very loudly! Even though expressing emotions is healthy, emotions can disrupt communication.

facebook

Communication was disrupted last Friday during a heart-to-heart conversation with my boyfriend. I thought things would flow smoothly with my proactive notes as a guide, but I was wrong. It doesn’t matter how prepared you are because the one thing you can’t prepare for are emotions. I remember getting two sentences out before the waterworks started. After that, I was a snot-nosed, red-eyed mess. You’d think an extrovert would conquer this kind of conversation, but just because we’re talkers doesn’t mean we’re good talkers. Luckily he, an introvert and good listener, understands the woman he’s dating. He sat there patiently and dealt with the disruption as I pulled myself together.

“Communication must be HOT. That’s honest, open and two-way.” – Dan Oswald, CEO of Business and Legal Resources

Friday night was a communication epic fail, but that’s what made Saturday so great. After having a day to rethink, revamp and reflect, we entered into a deep conversation. I realized it takes two people to achieve successful communication, and it’s possible to achieve success with an extrovert and introvert. If both parties are committed to listening and helping each other (if one falls apart halfway through), then there’s no reason these conversations shouldn’t be considered a victory.

Leave a Reply

