Reaching a new milestone

There are firsts in every romantic relationship: first date, first kiss, first time you realize you’re in love, first time saying I love you, first time hanging out with their friends, first fight, first time meeting the families, first night spent together, first trip… and so on. The majority of firsts happen within the first six months of the relationship. At least, that’s how it went for us, and now on Feb. 20 we checked off one more first: anniversary.

image_zps29e17516

“It’s hard for me to believe that we’ve already been together for a year. I guess time flies when you’re laughing, cuddling, loving and having adventures with someone you truly love.” 

We came to the mutual decision to have a low-key anniversary weekend since our actual anniversary fell on a Monday. I used to be the kind of girl who wanted to dress up to celebrate this milestone, but 23-year-old Amy can’t think of anything better than snuggling up on a couch in pjs while watching a good movie. It was such a relaxing, romantic escape.

Our weekend began with a scheduled gift exchange and car repair that benefited my 2003 Toyota Corolla. After everything he’s done for me in the past 12 months, I wanted to nail the gifts, and I accomplished that with three thoughtful items. The first was a duo of books called 31 Prayers for My Future Wife and 31 Prayers for My Future Husband. I knew this $20 purchase would be useful to us because we’re discerning our relationship for marriage, and prayer is a significant part of marriage. The second was a wooden wall decor piece that read God Gave Me You, which is the Dave Barnes song that outlines our relationship. The third and final gift was his favorite: an engraved wooden box filled with 28 personalized, blue dominoes. I had the box and dominoes engraved with our names to make it more romantic, and we decided to use it at a minimum and let it serve as a piece of decor so it’ll last for years to come.

The rest of the weekend was filled with relaxation and laughter, which is normal. Then on Sunday night around midnight, as I was Internet surfing on my Mac, he walked in with two cups. He told me he wanted to make a toast. He handed me my cup filled a fourth of the way with red wine and sat down next to me. He then proceeded to recite what sounded like a well rehearsed speech on his thoughts of our year together. It was the sweetest toast and impossible for me to follow although I tried. It was then that I asked him, “What were your favorite moments during the past year?”  I know how difficult that question was. I couldn’t even boil it down to one memory and neither could he. The truth is, I don’t think we’ll ever actually know what our favorite memory is because we’ll be too busy making more.

Leave a Reply

