New portfolio, same ole me

When I was in my last semester at Washburn, I was enrolled in a course called Career Development and Digital Portfolio. This class, required for seniors, focused on resume and cover letter critiques, career research and of course, digital portfolio creation. There are many free websites builders: Site123, Weebly, Wix, Squarespace, etc. I chose to use Weebly: it was easy to navigate and featured good themes.

At the end of the semester, we presented our portfolios to practice “pitching” ourselves to potential employers (i.e. our professor and classmates). Afterward, my professor told me that my portfolio trumped the majority of my classmates’ subpar efforts. My experiences and skills were highlighted well in my work samples and resume. Plus, my colorful theme displayed my interest in the creative field.

After I graduated, my Weebly portfolio was circulated to help advance my job hunt. I included the link on my resume and LinkedIn profile. As new experiences and skills became a part of me, my portfolio was revised and updated. I strongly believe it’s one of the reasons I gained my digital writing gig in May 2017.

round-up-of-new-features-image-01.jpg

Then after a couple months in my new job, something happened. I grew tired of my portfolio. The headshot on the homepage was old, and I saw ways to improve the overall layout. I’d heard good remarks about Wix, so I decided to start from stratch on a new platform. I restructured my content, revised my resume and developed a new color scheme. I also used my sister’s keen eye to capture an up-to-date headshot for the homepage. While most of the site was new, I carried over one special thing from the Weebly portfolio:

“To live a creative life, we must lost the fear of being wrong.” – Joseph Chilton Pearce. 

This quote defines my creative journey. I used to avoid mistakes and try to be perfect on the first go, which proved to be exhausting. I realized that the creative journey is outlined by making mistakes and learning from them. Mistakes can bulldoze a path toward better results. As I was designing my Wix portfolio, it took over a month to complete because of revisions, second guessing and mistakes like formatting text incorrectly or choosing a distracting background color or an unreadable font.

It got to the point where I wanted to start over, but Wix doesn’t let you switch templates after you’ve started. I looked into other sites like Site123 and Squarespace and even thought about returning to Weebly, but all roads led back to Wix, and I knew that was the best site for the design I wanted. After I inputted my headshot and matched the color scheme to the photo’s dominant color, everything fell into place. Now, I have a finished product ready to be viewed by all.

Leave a Reply

